Canarium indicum L. dried nuts (Kenari) (Traditional food from a third country): authorised novel food in the EU
Canarium indicum L. dried nuts (Kenari) (Traditional food from a third country) is on the Union list of authorised novel foods (Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/2470). Conditions of use and maximum levels: Not specified
- Regulation
- Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/2470, Annex, Table 1
- Listed as
- Canarium indicum L. dried nuts (Kenari) (Traditional food from a third country)
- Text version
- Consolidated text of 10 August 2026
- Version
- Consolidated text of 10 August 2026
- Official source
- Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/2470, Annex, Union list of novel foods
Conditions of use and maximum levels
Table 1, column "Conditions under which the novel food may be used", as written:
- Not specified
Additional specific labelling requirements
1. The designation of the traditional food on the labelling of the foodstuffs containing it shall be ‘dried kenari (Canarium indicum) nuts’. 2. The labelling of the foodstuffs containing dried nuts of Canarium indicum L. shall bear a statement that the nuts may cause allergic reactions to consumers with known allergies to hazel, cashew and pistachio. This statement shall appear in close proximity to the list of ingredients or, in the absence of a list of ingredient, in close proximity to the name of the food.
Specification (Table 2)
Table 2 of the Annex, row with the same name, as written:
Description/Definition:
The traditional food is processed dried kenari nuts. The term ‘Kenari Nuts’ refers to the kernels of ripe Kenari Fruit, scientifically known as Canarium indicum L. (or Canarium amboinense Hochr.; family: Burseraceae).
Composition:
Ash: ≤ 5 (g/100 g)
Moisture: ≤ 6 (g/100 g)
Protein: 12,8 - 14,4 g/100 g
Carbohydrates: 11,0 - 16,4 g/100 g
Fat: 59,3 - 66,3 g/100 g
Dietary fibre: 4,4 - 9,8 g/100 g
Microbiological criteria:
Aerobic Plate Count: ≤ 5,0 × 103 CFU/g
Coliforms: < 3 MPN/g
E. coli: < 3 MPN/g
Yeasts and moulds: < 10 CFU/g
Salmonella: Absent in 25 g
Staphylococcus aureus (absent/25 g)
Listeria monocytogenes (absent/25 g)
Aflatoxins
Aflatoxins B1: ≤ 2 mcg/kg
Aflatoxins (Sum of B1, B2, G1, G2): ≤ 4 mcg/kg
Dioxins and dioxin like PCBs
Sum of dioxins: ≤ 0,75 pg/g fat
Sum of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs: ≤ 1,5 pg/g fat
Heavy metals
Cadmium (Cd): ≤ 0,02 mg/kg
Lead (Pb): ≤ 0,07 mg/kg
CFU: Colony Forming Units
Source and version
Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/2470, Annex, Union list of novel foods, Table 1. Consolidated text of 10 August 2026. The text above is copied from that document without change except that amendment markers are removed. It is not advice and it does not decide whether a particular product is covered.
Want the whole list as one table?
If we publish the Union list as one table (name, food category, maximum level), we write to you once. We use the email for nothing else.